2019 EECS Outstanding Achievement Awards

Congratulations to these recipients of the EECS Outstanding Achievement Award

The EECS Outstanding Achievement Awards are presented annually to faculty members for their outstanding accomplishments in teaching, research, and service.

The recipients of the 2019 EECS Outstanding Achievement Award are:

Valeria Bertacco Enlarge
Prof. Valeria Bertacco

Valeria Bertacco

Thurnau Professor Valeria Bertacco is recognized for leadership of the ADA Research Center; service on the College of Engineering Executive Committee and as Associate Dean for Physical Sciences and Engineering at the Rackham Graduate School; contributions to the betterment of women in higher education; and highly recognized research in specialized architectures.





Robert Dick Enlarge
Prof. Robert Dick

Robert Dick

Professor Robert Dick is recognized for co-developing the freshman course, Self-Driving Cars, Drones, and Beyond: An Intro to Autonomous Electronic Systems, and for serving as chair of the computer engineering program committee. He is also recognized for outstanding research in embedded systems spanning software and hardware.





Rada Mihalcea Enlarge
Prof. Rada Mihalcea

Rada Mihalcea

Professor Rada Mihalcea is recognized for outstanding research on natural language and multi-modal interaction among humans and between humans and computational systems, including deception, emotion, and humor; for service in support of diversity in computer science; and for leadership as Director of the Artificial Intelligence Laboratory.





Vijay Subramanian Enlarge
Prof. Vijay Subramanian

Vijay Subramanian

Professor Vijay Subramanian is recognized for his outstanding contributions to research in resource allocation and learning in networks with strategic users, and for developing the senior undergraduate/graduate course: Introduction to Social, Economic and Technological Networks.